Big Band Holidays II

Big Band Holidays II

Regular price $14.98 Sale

Access the digital booklet and liner notes


Swing into the holiday spirit with BIG BAND HOLIDAYS II, the sequel to the critically acclaimed 2015 release from the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis. Featuring original arrangements of holiday classics selected from Big Band Holidays concerts spanning from 2015 to 2018, nine-time GRAMMY Award winner and Pulitzer Prize winner Wynton Marsalis and the JLCO are joined by an all-star assortment of guest vocalists, including Veronica Swift, Denzal Sinclaire, Catherine Russell, Audrey Shakir, and the Queen of Soul herself, Aretha Franklin.

Franklin’s stirring solo piano rendition of “O Tannenbaum,” a surprise performance during the 2015 edition of Big Band Holidays, has never before been released. Other standout tracks include Veronica Swift’s vibrant take on the classic “(Everybody’s Waitin’ For) The Man with the Bag” and Denzal Sinclaire’s jazzed-up version of “We Three Kings.” An instant classic that captures the magic of an annual NYC holiday tradition, BIG BAND HOLIDAYS II serves up timeless nostalgia right on cue for the most wonderful time of the year. 


Track Listing
  1. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
  1. Cool Yule (ft. Catherine Russell)
  1. We Three Kings (ft. Denzal Sinclaire)
  1. O Tannenbaum (ft. Aretha Franklin)
  1. Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow
  1. (Everybody’s Waitin’ for) The Man with the Bag (ft. Veronica Swift)
  1. What Will Santa Claus Say? (When He Finds Everybody Swingin’) (ft. Catherine Russell)
  1. Brazilian Sleigh Bells
  1. Silver Bells (ft. Catherine Russell) 
  1. Snowfall
  1. Silent Night (ft. Denzal Sinclaire)




Sherman Irby –  alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute; music director (2015-2016)
Ted Nash – alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute
Victor Goines – music director (2018); tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet
Walter Blanding (2015–2017) – tenor saxophone, clarinet, shaker
Paul Nedzela – baritone and soprano saxophones, bass clarinet
*Camille Thurman (2018) – tenor and soprano saxophones


Marcus Printup
Kenny Rampton
Wynton Marsalis (music director, 2017/18)
*Ryan Kisor (2015, 2017-2018)
*Greg Gisbert (2016)
*Bruce Harris (2016)
*Tatum Greenblatt (2017)


Vincent Gardner
Chris Crenshaw
Elliot Mason (2015-2016, 2018)
*Sam Chess (2017)
*Eric Miller (2018)


Dan Nimmer – piano
Carlos Henriquez – bass
Ali Jackson (2015-2016) – drums
*Marion Felder (2017) – drums
*Charles Goold (2018) – drums


Aretha Franklin – vocals and piano
Audrey Shakir – vocals
Denzal Sinclaire vocals
Catherine Russell – vocals
Veronica Swift – vocals
James Chirillo – guitar

* indicates substitute orchestra member